2020 Venice Biennale

October 2019

In | between: Bridging cultures through architecture at 2020 Venice Biennale

We are thrilled to announce that creative directors Tristan Wong (SJB) and Jefa Greenaway (Greenaway Architects) have been selected by the Australian Institute of Architects to design Australia's Pavilion at the 2020 Venice Architecture Biennale. 

The winning entry titled 'In | between' responds to the theme set by the Biennale curator, Hashim Sarkis, titled "How will we live together?".

"In | between is about building cultural understanding between Indigenous and non-indigenous populations," says Tristan Wong. "It responds deeply to Hashim Sarkis's theme by highlighting a series of works that authentically, and appropriately, demonstrate the protection, revival and celebration of Indigenous culture. The exhibition sees Australia inviting its neighbours from the Pacific to share the pavilion and collectively present examples of architecture and its engagement processes, that powerfully represent non-indigenous and Indigenous ideologies simultaneously. Architecture becomes the enabler to connect, to evoke Country, to reveal layers of history and memory and to give cultural expression, predicated on a people-centred approach to a shared humanity," he says. 

On the announcement, Jefa Greenaway said, "The opportunity to go on a journey with a team of intelligent, empathetic and committed creatives to tell our stories of place and to understand the processes toward culturally responsive architecture was too compelling not to be involved in. 

"Having spent the best part of 25 years looking at the intersection between identity, culture and the built environment I sense that there is a receptive ear to have conversations which do not shy away from complexity or difficult truths while pivoting towards a strength base approach which gives agency to Indigenous voices while celebrating our shared humanity," he says.

Congratulations to the three shortlisted teams on their efforts and a big thank you to all members of the team including Elizabeth GrantTim RossAaron Puls and Jordyn Milliken.